Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

“I cried because I had no shoes .. “

Folks,

From time to time, old TP goes off-topic, and says something completely unrelated to the Wonderful World of High Tech¹. Today it is gonna be just that — one of those times.

In my comings-and-goings, and interactions this past week or so, I have been constantly reminded of the wisdom of that old, old saw “I cried because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet.”

Now, I am not going to say that every person I talked to was a sniveling, self-indulgent narcissist of epic proportions. Quite the contrary. But I met enough, of all ages, to make me ill to my stomach. “Soft” and “entitled” were IMHO appropriate adjectives. (I also heard some stories that broke my heart..)

Now, I know some head-shrinkers out there will say something like “takes one to know one“, so there must be some of that in me too. I am sure there is. But it is on my mind. Thanksgiving is not the only day of the year we should stop and “count our Blessings”. And Christmas is not the only day of the year we should volunteer at a soup kitchen. If you get my drift. So I will ask you to think, and also invite you to take a look at http://www.randomactsofkindness.org/ if you never have.

Have a great week, everybody! (And, Go, Giants!)

Today’s quote:You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

¹ Sorry but I was being a bit sarcastic there. Between the idjit profiteers running the tech co’s, cybercrime, and them selling us buggy code and half-baked hardware, (and so much more, like Big Brother.. and data mining) I have lost practically all my Geek exuberance.

Today’s reading reco:Almost no one noticed, however, even though Microsoft’s policy changes are much the same as those that Google made to its privacy rules this year.” I have to admit I was one of those that missed these changes. It’s a scary online world we live in. “No one understands how all this data is being put together and being used,” “All of these companies are in a digital arms race to tie together all the information they have about individuals. For companies like Google and Microsoft, the real goal is to expand market share.” Do no evil. The almighty dollar. A never-ending war with all of us caught in the middle.” Read more at The New York Times: As Microsoft Shifts Its Privacy Rules, an Uproar Is Absent

And while I’m at it: Tip, people. Tip! Let your service people know you appreciate their kind attentions. Odds are, they aren’t getting paid spit for wages, so don’t be thinking they’re getting rich by double payments.. (I see people richer than God for whom tipping is an alien concept…)

Copyright 2007-2012 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

October 22, 2012 - Posted by | advice, blogging | ,

No comments yet.

Post your Comment/Question

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

