Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Apple’s New “Lion”, and More for Your Monday

Apple announced that it had 1 million downloads of its newest operating system, OS X 10.7 codename “Lion”, on its first day of availability. Available through the Mac App Store for $29.99, Apple says people are buying Lion faster than any other OS release in Apple’s history.

Microsoft could take a lesson from this (IMHO). Not from adding a feature or two and a dozen tweaks and calling it a new version (with a new name), but to get a clue about their archaic pricing structure. If I could get Windows 7 Home upgrade licenses for $30 – $40, I would buy a dozen of them today.

I am not an iFanatic, and do not know any more about Apple machines than what I have to as a Technician living in Appleland (aka ‘silicon valley’) — yes, I fix Macs. But I don’t use them. I haven’t powered up my “Tiger” machine in.. oh, let’s call it 2 years. And, so far, I do not own any iGadgets either.

With that said, I have looked at various “reviews” and it seems to me that the main thing Lion gives you (new) is direct integration with the iStore, and touchscreen ‘gestures’.
Hmmm… I don’t want either of those things.
It kind of looks to me like Apple is “blending” their operating systems for their gadgets into their desktop OS. (People are accusing Windows 8 of this same kind of thing..)

It also has something called “natural scrolling”, which apparently nobody likes.

I will say, it is kind of hard finding less-than-enthusiastic reviews.. ahem. Such as this one: Here Are 12 Amazing Hidden Features In Mac OS X Lion

Lion touts more than 250 new features, but Apple only advertises a few of them. We picked out some of the best tips for customizing and making the most of Lion. Read more..

I dare you to look at those, and then I ask you think about the definition of the word “amazing”, and then find any correlation. (And note that one of the ‘tips’ is how to turn off natural scrolling..)
I was kind of surprised that some of the ‘features’ are only now available…

I had questions if improved 64-bit capability would make Lion “faster” than Snow Leopard, so I found this article interesting (though, it is way too early to really tell): Snow Leopard vs. Lion: Performance head-to-head

Since we had the 27-inch iMac on hand, we thought we’d see if OS X Lion introduced any performance changes. Read more..

(And for those considering “upgrading” to Lion, I would suggest reading the comments, too.)

As I said earlier, I am not an “Apple guy”, and I do not have any ‘hands on’ experience with Lion. So I am not going to presume to advise you Apple users on whether to upgrade to Lion or not. I will only offer (repeat, really) my ‘general policy’ which goes — yes, you want to keep all your software up to date with the newest versions; but, you do not want version 1.0 of anything.
A seeming contradiction.

I – myself – would wait a bit on Lion. Until the first patches have been released. Then I would upgrade. And learn the new “productivity enhancements” like “spaces”. Maybe (probably) even buy a “gestures” mouse.

If you are at all curious about Apple’s new operating system, (“The World’s Most Advanced Operating System”) the place to start is to take a look at the official Apple page, here.

Today’s reading reco: Four Things Google Plus Could Do To Fix Google Plus
(There are “big” issues here.. I urge a read.)

Saturday’s Google Plus user account deletion purge plunged the new social network into a crisis of user trust: the community wants it fixed. Read more..

“Google+ is not warning users before deleting user accounts, and some people have reported being locked out of all Google services, including docs and Gmail.”

~

Today’s quote:Joy is a flower that blooms when you do.”  ~ Unknown

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


July 25, 2011 - Posted by | advice, Apple, computers, News | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Very nice article Paul… As a result of Apple’s release of Lion, it caught my attention. I started wondering if there was a method to install it on a Windows based computer or netbook. Sure enough, if you can think it; it has been done! It is quite a task to do to make a windows based PC a hackintosh, but it can be done. I was especially focused on whether it was possible to do this with a netbook (in my case, a netbook by Acer).

    I think what caught my attention with all of this is what you reflected – the pricing structure. I agree, if Microsoft dropped their prices I think they would see something phenomenal. Not only that, if this took off, just think how much safer the internet could be. People would be more apt to upgrade to the safer operating systems (such as Windows 7). Come on Microsoft, take the hint here…

    Rick

    Like

    Comment by Ramblinrick | July 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Rick,
      The subject of “hackintosh” has come up from time to time here, and I know a few people who have done it (and done it on several different device ‘platforms’ – seems the Acer netbook is a prime target for such a hack) and when it does, I feel compelled to remind people that such hacks violate Apple’s licensing terms.

      There was a time, I guess, when Microsoft’s pricing structure made a certain kind of sense. But I agree whole-heartedly with your supposition, and believe that many more people would have upgraded OSes more frequently — and thus been safer (which would make the whole web safer).
      I could be wrong.

      As it stands now, I think people (Windows users) considering an upgrade are better off buying a whole new machine. (Essentially getting the OS free.)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | July 25, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

