Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Considering A Tablet?

Folks, two very good reads for you today. The first puts into print my “spiel” when I am asked about tablets (such as the iPad), and also explains why I do not own one (yet). The second explains not only the “state of IT”, but also, indirectly, perhaps, the state of our nation..?
(If you are an ‘IT type’, or are thinking about working in IT, then the article is [IMHO] a ‘must read’. Perhaps a reader or two has been effected by this change..?)

Tablets are for people who hate computers

Tablets may be stealing some of the thunder from traditional PC sales, but that doesn’t mean they’re for everyone. If you’re already proficient with a PC, you may be disappointed by a tablet.Read more..

The future of IT will be reduced to three kinds of jobs The IT profession and the IT job market are in the midst of seismic changes that are going to shift the focus to three types of jobs.

There’s a general anxiety that has settled over much of the IT profession in recent years. It’s a stark contrast to the situation just over a decade ago. At the end of the 1990s, IT pros were the belles of the ball..Read more..

Since it has been a while..:

Today’s quote:Do not believe in anything simply because you have heard it.  Do not believe in anything simply because it is spoken and rumored by many.  Do not believe in anything simply because it is found written in your religious books.  Do not believe in anything merely on the authority of your teachers and elders.  Do not believe in traditions because they have been handed down for many generations.  But after observation and analysis, when you find that anything agrees with reason and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all, then accept it and live up to it.”  ~ Buddha

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


July 28, 2011 - Posted by | advice, computers, mobile, tech | , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. TechPaul,

    Ironically, the tablets have caught my attention and I am contemplating the ASUS Eee Pad Transformer TF101-A1 10.1-Inch Tablet Computer.

    The article you pointed us to is right on target; however, I do like the idea of sitting back in the recliner and doing some web surfing. I can’t wait to see Windows 8 on a tablet.

    Rick

    Like

    Comment by Ramblinrick | July 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Rick,
      I, too, am getting a bit “itchy” for a tablet, though my uses for it would be quite (as in, very) limited. I am going to wait, though. I expect prices to be considerably lower in a year or less. (My guess is, by half, or more.)

      I took a look at ExtremeTech’s Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101-A1 Review, and I must say, with a dock, I could find ways to use and, I suspect, enjoy one of those..

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | July 28, 2011 | Reply

      • TechPaul,

        The Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101-A1, is really getting some great reviews and costs less than some of the other heavyweights. I keep telling myself, to wait; but, I’m like a kid; “Can I Really Wait?”.

        May head over to Best Buy to see if they have one on display that I can play around with.

        Rick

        Like

        Comment by Ramblinrick | July 29, 2011 | Reply

        • Rick,
          Hmmm.. like a kid… about a tech gadget..

          Nope. Can’t relate.

          ;-)

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

    Like

    Comment by tyecript | August 24, 2011 | Reply

    • tyecript,
      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I hope you will look around some, there’s over 1,500 articles here.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 24, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

