Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

7 features to boost your productivity in Windows 7

Windows 7 has many new features that can speed up your work. Some are obvious, but others are more like ‘hidden jewels’. Tony Bradley’s article over on ComputerWorld is a great place for you to find out about 7 of these new efficiency-boosters and learn good advice for best using them.

Here is the direct link: Windows 7 efficiency tips “Master these features to boost your productivity in Windows 7.”

Or.. you can click on the sections of interest..

  1. Get the most out of Jump Lists
  2. Beef up context menus
  3. Enable AHCI
  4. Navigate with the Aero interface
  5. Organize your files with libraries
  6. Use keyboard shortcuts
  7. Windows search trumps all

Raise your Geek Quotient, click a link or two!

Related: And for those of you who aren’t interested in these – because you are still using Windows XP – see, It is time to face facts and finally dump Windows XP

I have been saying this for a while now; but, sometimes people want to know what other professionals are saying..

Unrelated: (But hopefully fun) I have been meaning to mention this for some time now, and perhaps it is no longer relevant, but I have been hearing from many, many places that it has been hot and humid and insufferable. Quite different from here, where we have had days that did not break 70° (though today is nice and warm) and I thought I was going to get jobbed out of summer…

Today’s quote:If it weren’t for the fact that the TV set and the refrigerator are so far apart, some of us wouldn’t get any exercise at all.”  ~ Joey Adams

Have a great weekend, everybody!

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


July 30, 2011 - Posted by | advice, computers, how to, Microsoft, tech, Windows 7 | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Great article and video Paul. And the quote so applies to me!

    Like

    Comment by IzaakMak | July 30, 2011 | Reply

    • IzaakMak,
      ‘Preciate (as always) your taking the time and showing your support. Reader comments keep me at it.

      And .. I suspect that quip applies one or two others of us …
      Ha!

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | July 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. HI Paul,
    Thanks for the useful post .Useful for me as I’m now having W7.

    btw feeling real hot here with 105°

    Thanks Grr

    Like

    Comment by Grr | August 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Grr,
      Good to see you here. Hope all is “groovy” with you and yours.

      There are many great guides for those new to Windows 7 (hopefully, this site is one of them). I hope you have a smooth transition. And, look for more such pointers here in the days ahead.
      (I consider transition to Win7 a relatively shallow learning curve. Now, the new “ribbon” in Office 2007/2010 took some getting used to!)

      If you have told me where “here” is, I am afraid I have forgotten (Dallas?) … Hmmm. 105. I can do that if there’s no humidity… but, yikes.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 3, 2011 | Reply

      • Yep- u got it right..Dallas…

        and I’m really frustrated with the ribbon stuff….is there a way to get back to the “Normal” menu??

        Like

        Comment by Grr | August 4, 2011 | Reply

        • Grr,
          Well, that answer is kind of product specific. Sometimes “yes” and sometimes “no”. I think though that you will benefit from these two items.

          And on the Microsoft website there are good tips for adjusting to the ribbon as well. Which I encourage everyone to do. (Now that I have gotten the hang of it, I like it much better than the “old school”.) I know it is against our ‘human nature’, but – with tech at least – I do suggest the strategy of “embrace the change” ( .. and I understand that the rate at which tech progresses makes this a bit of a full time job).

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | August 4, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

