Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

A Quickie…

Folks,
Crazy busy here, and time has not allowed me my regular posting. Today, I only have a moment, and will add something in relation to Monday’s article on Firefox 6, as it seems that (once again) I am not alone:

“… In other news, Mozilla, maker of the popular Firefox browser, found itself in the unfavorable position of having to defend its rapid-release program. With the new six-week release schedule causing some corporate indigestion, Mozilla chair Mitchell Baker issued a statement on why she believes the pros outweigh the cons. You can read her argument here.”

What do you think? Are you a fan of the new release cycle?

Hope I can get back on track soon, and I thank you for your patience.

Today’s quote:It is better to sleep on things beforehand than lie awake about them afterwards.” ~ Baltasar Gracian

August 31, 2011 - Posted by | computers | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Paul, I missed Monday’s article…lots of interesting stuff to catch up on.
    Thanks for the reference to it again

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | August 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. Paul,

    I like the poll you posted here. My answer is “Yes, I find the frequent updates irritating” ; especially if the update is not a “silent update” that requires taking up my time. You and me, we understand the hows and whys of updates; however, others can find it quite frustrating and even confusing (depending on what the update is for). I have also found that many people (or at least the PCs I have been on in people’s homes) completely disregard update prompts and swat it away like a fly. Almost like a behavioral thing… : )

    Rick

    Like

    Comment by Ramblinrick | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Rick,
      I am just a lil ‘ole country boy, but it sure seems to me that there are only two (with maybe a third) valid reasons for issuing an update:
      • Security (patch a hole)
      • Stability (fix a glitch [aka ‘bug’])
      (Possible 3rd reason: • New feature)

      Racing to copy, move for move, a competitor may make a certain kind of sense. And Ms Baker’s statements do not strike me as irrational. But…

      When I looked at the poll before retiring for the night last night there were 8 “yes it bugs me” and 2 “I do not use Firefox” (0 “I like it”) — which seems a fairly clear message, should anyone at Mozilla care to listen.
      (Highly Scientific Hearsay Evidence: A few people have told me they stopped using Firefox because of the constant updating. And they are unaware that Chrome is doing the same thing.)

      And I like your “flies” analogy, and sadly have to agree with the truth of it. Over the years I have posted several Learn To Love The Update articles (such as What’s With All These Updates?!*) but I am afraid I did not change human nature by doing so.

      Perhaps Mozilla should adopt a strategy like Microsoft’s Patch Tuesday?

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | September 1, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

