Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Better Than Dropbox and RapidShare (?)

Winners Announced And Some Friday Fun

Free Online File Storage/Sync/Share Sites You May Not Know About

Almost everyone, it seems, has heard of (and may already be using) Dropbox. And probably/maybe, at some point you have downloaded someone’s file from RapidShare.

Online file “sync”-ing services let you “upload” (to “the cloud”) files you select – such as MP3 songs, for example -where they are available to you (or, anyone you give access) from any Internet-connected device. This often is a better way to share than trying to send things by email – certainly is for large files.
People also use such services for keeping files “synced” between their work and home computers.
(BTW, I am told that no one uses email anymore..)

Intrepid Tech – for Everyone undercover operatives (you know who you are) have recently made me aware of two services I think you’ll want to know about. (I have not yet had time to personally test them out…)

• (WWW.CX.COM) Relaunched Cloud Storage App Still Offering 10 GB of Free Space

“Back in September I told you about www.cx.com, a Dropbox-like startup that was offering 10 GB of free storage space for new accounts, rather than the 2 GB offered by Dropbox. 

CX has recently undergone a major revamp.” Read more..

Fyels Upload and share unlimited files up to 11GB each, for FREE

This (second) one does not even require you join, or give an email.. and there are no ads.. amazing.

Giveaway Winners Announced

The folks at Novosoft have generously donated 3 licenses for Office Backup 4.0 to me, to award to my readers. I sincerely thank thank them for that.

Office Backup is an easy-to-use backup software designed to perform automated backup of your computer. If you are looking for a simple yet powerful backup utility, you have just found it – Novosoft Office Backup.

Without further ado, the lucky winners are

Congratulations! My thanks to all who participated. (Winners, check your Inbox [and maybe your Junk folder] for the Subject Office Backup Winner)

Just plain fun:

Today’s quotable quote: “I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught.” ~ Winston Churchill

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


October 21, 2011 - Posted by | cloud computing, computers, free software, Internet | , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Hey Paul,

    A big thanks to you and the good folks over at Novosoft for my licensed copy of Office Backup.

    Thanks for all of the good tech tips, news and safety advice.

    Congratulations to the other winners!

    Best,

    Bob

    Like

    Comment by Bob Slyker | October 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Bob Slyker,
      I say again, congratulations and I hope you enjoy the software!

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. Paul… thanks so much…I am thrilled with the win…I am sure I will enjoy using it.

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | October 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      I don’t know that a backup program is something a person “enjoys using“, so much as it is an enjoyable sense of “peace of mind”.. but, congratulations! I do hope you enjoy the software.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. Good vid… good example how people believe everything… even what they (think they) see.

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. Yes Paul I hear you… if one “enjoys using” a backup program… perhaps not. I am looking for an easier way than my “Norton Way” to back up the contents on my computer…I shall see if I like it.
    Thanks again.

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | October 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Well.. the “easier way” is to create a “set it, and forget it” backup solution; which both Norton’s and Novosoft’s software can do (generally requires external storage “drive”). Many people are going with an “online backup” solution, like SugarSync, Carbonite, and Mozy (and Norton) — which are “rentals” (basically, you’re paying for the “easy”).

      I guess I could use an analogy, and I like to use checking+changing the oil on your cars.
      The most cost-effective way (and you make sure it’s done right) is to do it yourself.
      The “easier” way is to let hire someone else to do it for you.
      I don’t care which a reader does; but I can attest to how sorry they can/will be if they ignore the issue altogether.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. Good ones thx!

    Like

    Comment by RJ45 | October 22, 2011 | Reply

    • RJ45,
      Fyels appears to be a way for me to solve the upload size limit that so many of these services have.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. Thanks Paul for the giveaway license.

    CX cloud storage is new for me. I have a generic question – is there a way to sync dropbox, CX & other similar storage sites ( not rapidshare & others)?

    Thanks,
    Grr

    Like

    Comment by Grr | October 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Grr,
      I think what you’re asking is — is there a way to keep the files in your Dropbox account and the files in your CX account ‘synced’.. they sync each other.

      Due to the fact that I personally do not think the trend toward “cloud computing” is at all a “good thing”, and partly because I do not use my (relatively new) phone as a music and movie player (much). and partly because I do not “collaborate” when producing my documents, and because I sync whatever few files need to be synced (on multiple machines) over the LAN.. I do not use Dropbox (or their ilk).
      But I think your answer is basically “no” (welcome any input from those in the know).

      However, if you pointed both Dropbox and CX to the same folder on your local machine, they would – in essence – be synced. (They’re both ‘copying’ the same source.) Right?

      * Congratulations! I hope you enjoy the software.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 22, 2011 | Reply

      • Thanks a lot Paul.

        The same folder is a good option for now.

        Actually I wanted to do a cloud sync as it wouldn’t require the file to be downloaded/uploaded. I could just get a sync done & share it.

        Have a nice Sunday ahead..

        Grr

        Like

        Comment by Grr | October 22, 2011 | Reply

        • Grr,
          If you had something on Dropbox, and it no longer was on your local machine, and you wanted it to be on CX also .. I think you would would have to download > upload, yes.

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | October 22, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

