Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

A Daily Read*

It’s a fact: over time, things grow, and expand. The Internet itself is constantly growing, and every day thousands of new websites, blogs, and ‘online services’ appear.

I find it hard to keep up! (As, other things that are constantly growing are my business and my To Do List..) I simply do not have the time to explore them all.. and I bet you don’t either. (As a matter of fact, they say over 1,000 new ‘tech blogs’ are created each month. That’s the kind of market I am in!)

Fortunately, I know a guy.

WOMPC_logo

That “guy” is Rick Robinette, and for over two years now his What’s On My PC… website has been a daily read of mine — one of the half dozen (or less) remaining “daily reads”. I cannot say enough nice things about him; but the reason I am mentioning him to you, Dear Reader, is — he is reporting on the new ‘cloud computing’ developments as they happen, and bringing us the best of this new stuff. As you can see from his list of ‘pages’, below. (With a strong emphasis on free.. which I like!)

His writing is friendly, relaxed, fun, and yes, educational. He enjoys exploring fun and useful small utilities like desktop clocks and weather reports and sticky notes. As evidence, here’s a few recent What’s On My PC… articles:

Freahly printed: Three Technological Innovations That Will Blow Your Mind

Technology never ceases to amaze me. Check out these three technological innovations that will blow your mind — a spherical flying machine; brain imaging technology that is leading us down the road to mind reading; and, ASIMO, the humanoid robot. Spherical flying machine developed by Defense Ministry’s Research Department The world’s first spherical flying machine […]” Read more..

Other samplings..

If you are at all interested in free software, useful tips, and/or want to get a feel for this “cloud computing”.. well, now you ‘know a guy’ too. Visit http://whatsonmypc.wordpress.com and find out why I cannot say enough good things about this great online resource.

I am pretty sure that if you do, Rick will become one of your “must reads” too!

* Orig post: 1/18/11

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


November 18, 2011 - Posted by | advice, cloud computing, Internet, tech | , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Rick’s page is also a daily read for me! Between Rick, Bill, and You, my daily blog reading is complete!

    Like

    Comment by g | November 18, 2011 | Reply

    • g
      Once upon a time I referred to What’s On My PC.. as an “undiscovered gem on the Internet”, but Rick’s constant and consistent output of interesting content (proven track record) over the years – day in and day out – seems to be getting the recognition it deserves, and “undiscovered” is going to have to be retired…

      Always good to see you here, and if I don’t get another chance, I’ll go ahead and wish you and yours a wonderful holiday.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | November 19, 2011 | Reply

      • Happy Thanksgiving to you Paul!

        Like

        Comment by g | November 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. Paul,

    I was just checking my blog comments at What’s On My PC and I noticed, what I thought was a spam run, when to my great surprise, I discovered it was Tech-for Everyone. You do not know what this means to me… To get recognized by a site of your caliber is a moment I will not forget!

    Thank you,

    Rick @ What’s On MY PC

    Like

    Comment by Ramblinrick | November 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Rick,
      You are one of the good guys, and what you do on your site has made it one of the half-dozen or so that have survived my “life’s culling process” to remain a daily read. I hope that you will be able to keep it up for a long, long while to come!

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | November 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. Oh,yeah. NOW I got 2 more blog email notices to read with the other 20 or more. Not to mention allllllll the links. You think I am made of time over here in my igloo. I gave up on my RSS feeds; they are so backed up so I have just been using email for now. I should just go in an annihilate it and start all over. Phasers on Stun!

    All kidding aside, That is really nice of you to point your audience to another blogger’s work. Don’t see that often. Kudos to you. (Did he just call US spam???)

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | November 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Delenn13,

      TechPaul is one of the best bloggers I know of out there… He actually prompted me to get into blogging and it has become a passion of mine ever since. I really love the tech stuff and anyone associated with it. Yes, TechPaul spammed me and made my day!

      Rick @ What’s On My PC

      Like

      Comment by Ramblinrick | November 18, 2011 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      Rick is not only a “hard worker” (aka “daily new postings”), and finds stuff I miss in his explorations of the ‘net and things tech, but he is one of the good guys. It is both my privilege and my pleasure to mention his website to folks.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | November 19, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

