Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

A Day Early

I am posting tomorrow’s Sunday Beauty today, as emergency computer back-from-the-dead surgery, and virus removal surgeries have me scheduled in the O.R. through to Monday. (They tell me I will be allowed a few hours sleep..)

Anywho.. here you go: Sunday Beauty #70

Click on image to see more by this artist

“P1020101” by Johan615, courtesy of Flickr Commons

~     ~     ~

.. dang, but I am getting a lot of spam recently.. anyone else noticed an uptick?

Today’s quote:By swallowing evil words unsaid, no one has ever harmed his stomach.”  ~ Winston Churchill

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


December 10, 2011 - Posted by | computers | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh, sure. Put up a pic of something that I can see in RL in probably less than a month…except the water won’t be as calm.

    .. dang, but I am getting a lot of spam recently.. anyone else noticed an uptick?

    Yeppers, All kinds. This Christmas must be special. I got my FIRST threat. I had heard of this but never got one. I opened this yesterday and just cracked up laughing. My life must be complete now.

    I have been paid to terminate you, Do you really need your life?

    Abdulrahma Nasad tester[at]yango.com.cn {That’s China, folks. That “dot cn” in the address. When you see that, it means Do Not Click.}*

    Dec 10 (1 day ago)

    to undisclosed recipients
    Dear,

    This is the only way I could contact you for now,I want you to be very careful about this and keep this secret with you until I make out space for us to see. You have no need of knowing who I am or where i am from.I know this may sound very surprising to you but it’s the situation.I have been paid some ransom in advance to terminate you with some reasons listed to me by my employer.It’s someone I believe you call a friend, I have followed you closely for a while now and have seen that you are innocent of the accusations leveled against you. Do not contact the police or try to send a copy of this to them,because if you do, I will know,and I might be pushed to do what I have been paid to do.Besides, this is the first time I turn out to be a betrayer in my job.I took pity on you… That is why I have made up my mind to help you if you are willing to help yourself.

    Do you really need your life?

    Reply me ASAP

    Since I did some “googling”, I now feel slighted. Where is the part about staying in my house after 7:30? Maybe, he knows it is cold here and no one in their right mind wants to be outside at that time of night. :) Make sure you read the last one for a good laugh.

    Hitman scam

    snopes.com: Hitman Bribe Scam

    Do I report life-threatening spam? – spam threat email | Ask MetaFilter

    I cracked up reading this. Some one having fun with the scammer. Be warned..Some NSFW language.

    SCAMORAMA

    Got to get ready for a Christmas dinner with his family. I will be sitting at the table trying to figure out which one of them paid for the hit. LOL!

    * My insert

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | December 11, 2011 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      Yes, now it is official — you are someone special (you are the target of a hitman) and a member of a select club.

      … I must be getting jaded due to ‘saturation’ .. but when I look at some of these, and ask myself “who would be *naive* enough to fall for this?”, I am almost at the point where I am thinking, “if they are that *naive*, and get fleeced, it’s just Darwin’s Law in action.”
      (Darwin’s Law is a bit different than Darwin’s Theory.. Darwin’s Law = the slow and the stupid are food.)

      Some good sites mentioned, thanks.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | December 11, 2011 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

