Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

A Few Sprinkles, And…

Well, we got a few sprinkles here, and sure enough, poof! Out go the lights.

And cellular.

And cable. (Comcast) A trifecta.

I had to drive to a neighboring town to get a cellular signal, and am now typing this post on my ‘ droid. I will try to post later, but for now, I would like to ask you to type “UPS” into my search widget. (No.. I am not referencing a delivery service.)

Or, perhaps easier, click this –> My Power Is OUT

*     *     *

Back in biz.. yay!

From a reader:

“I’m curious about how many people actually contacted their congressional members, or signed a petition like the one Google started at https://www.google.com/landing/takeaction/ about the SOPA (H.R.3261) and PIPA (S.968) bills.

I’m fairly politically active when it comes to subjects I’m passionate about, and this is one of them. The way the bills are written is so broad that they amount to censorship, and they would have a negative impact on our economy.

Perhaps another survey would give us an idea, but that’s up to you.

Thanks!”

You know what? I am curious too, so ..

How ’bout participating folks? I do appreciate it.

I must be living under a rock…: (aka Friday Fun)

I just heard of the term “Flash mob”.
I had seen one.. but assumed it was some advertising stunt.. turns out, I was only half right. Never heard of a “flash mob” either? Then check out 15 Fab Flash Mob Videos on YouTube

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


January 20, 2012 - Posted by | computers | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I’m glad to see the inquiry from one of your readers concerning SOPA…hopefully it will get “people at large”… to pay attention to this serious issue!

    It is not only American’s that will be victims of SOPA, there’s a growing number of Canadians against Internet Censorship as well. Further info. on this can be read here…

    http://openmedia.ca/sopa

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | January 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Though I doubt many of our elected representatives “get it”, the Bill before them would change the World Wide Internet (aka “every one”, around the globe.).
      Unfortunately.. I believe they have simplified it in their own minds to “do I want to stand up and stop piracy?” (which of course, sounds like a good thing..)

      But, I wonder if voices of outrage in Canada (or elsewhere) would be heard by someone only concerned with getting re-elected in Little State, USA? All you can do is try to be heard.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | January 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. TechPaul,

    Snow and sleet here tonight… I sure hope we don’t have a blackout. Typing on the “droid” can be a challenge!

    Hope all is well at your end!

    Rick

    Like

    Comment by Ramblinrick | January 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Rick,
      I believe there is a WordPress app, that would make posting from my Android smart phone “easier”.. And perhaps if I was of the generation that learned to be proficient at ‘thumb typing’..
      But, yes, I found getting that brief few lines up to be more trouble than it was worth, and not something I am eager to make a habit.

      Those “few sprinkles” turned into wind and rain worthy of the word “storm” (they are awfully quick to label something a storm in these parts) but we have had a rather dry winter so I suppose we need it. I hope you do not have a repeat of last year out there (if memory serves, you had a record-bad winter) and that you are staying warm and dry.

      BTW, really enjoying your recent work on your What’s On My PC... website. You’re “on a roll”, IMHO.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | January 20, 2012 | Reply

  3. I read, and now I can’t find the article, (the hubby had out patient surgery yesterday so it’s been crazy here) that ALL the nominees to be elected came out against SOPA Thursday. I wonder what would have happened if they had been asked Tuesday.

    Flash mobs???? Are you kidding? Yep, you have been under some rock. We even had one in the town where Gaia lives at the Seaway Mall in Welland. Christmas Food Court Flash Mob, Hallelujah Chorus – Must See! – YouTube Over 36 MILLION people have viewed it.

    One of my fav flash mobs is…..And I don’t have a clue(Not a real fan of either Oprah or the Black Eyed Peas) why but it makes me smile/happy. Black Eyed Peas I gotta feeling on Oprah Chicago – YouTube 21,000 people all dancing. The look on Oprah’s face is awesome. Some people say she says….OMFG and others say…Oh my, What fun! What do you hear?

    Got a question for ya? If I do a search on your site, does it search the comments also or do I need to use DDG or Google to do that?

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  4. I know Oprah’s was listed in the 15 videos but it was taken down. :) So I posted it for your viewing pleasure. As Oprah said…”That was the coolest thing evar!”

    Oh, and another thing…..Never go into Best Buy wearing a blue polo shirts and khaki pants. They will call the police and asking you to leave. Best line..”You want me to leave because I am wearing the same shirt as you?”

    Best Buy (Remastered) | Improv Everywhere

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  5. Paul, those Flash Mobs Vids are great… so many happy people…very up-lifting! Thanks

    P.S. ..I watched several of them already.

    Delenn13…Yes the Xmas Food Court Flash Mob even made it on the National News… it was lovely! Sorry I missed it…I should have been shopping that night

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  6. Hey… more excitement for the Internet…ha… ! Now what?…I wonder!

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk./news/article-2089138/megaupload-shut-police

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | January 21, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Who knows? They’re making this Internet/”tech” stuff up as they go along.. and direction is determined by what sells.

      We live in interesting times………..

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | January 21, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

