Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Super Bowl On NBCSports.com – The Worst

Trying to watch the Super “live” on the Internet (at nbcsports.com) has been the worst video feed experience I have witnessed to date.

Wow, is it bad. So bad, I’ll go ahead and break policy and use the word “sucks”. Terrible!

I’ll tell you more about the “why” in a bit…

(And before you ask, on fiber, currently testing @ 12 Mbps .)

Note: If anyone else had a different experience with their feed, I’d like to hear it.

February 5, 2012 - Posted by | Internet, News | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. The only thing I saw worth watching while having the Super Bowl live on the internet was the 1 to 2 minute delay, which allowed me to catch things I missed on the television. Other than that, it was a complete failure. The inability to close the sidebar chat window irritated me, and I saw no way to “replay” anything (as advertized). Phooey!!! They have a long way to go before I’ll ever do that again!

    Like

    Comment by kstinman | February 6, 2012 | Reply

    • kstinman,
      I saw several features of the player and the feed that, had they worked like they should (or.. more likely, been able to keep up with the demand) would be very kewel indeed — and give a glimpse at what “broadcasting” will look like in the not-too-distant future (standard.. w/o the use of a DVR/TiVo), I believe: multiple camera feeds to choose from, ‘quick replay’.. etc..

      I didn’t even try the “mobile app”.
      Somehow.. the idea of trying to watch sports on my phone’s 4″ screen seems.. well, let’s just call it a “method of last resort”.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | February 6, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

