Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Prepare for dot-madness

Folks, a huge change is in progress, and the ‘net will never be the same. Though it is  now dated, I think this article describes what’s going on better than most.

Here comes the greatest Internet landgrab in history

“ICANN tomorrow will reveal who is going after what new domain extensions, paving the way for a very different looking Web. Prepare for dot-madness.” Read more..

Unfortunately, one unintended consequence of this is it is going to make it a lot harder for you to spot shady URL’s, and easier for the criminals to hide their activities. But what the hey. A small handful of people are gonna make some quick & easy BIG BUCKS (sound familiar?).

And.. since “average computer users” don’t look at the URL’s they click anyway.. I guess it won’t change things all that much in terms of phishing… (You do know that you do not want to click on http://sputnick1.ru/bank_form1.exe to get to your B of A account, right? The “.ru” tells you the website is in Russia? [And the “.exe” should be a bit of a tip off, too…])

Just in case this huge change is slow in being felt.. I will share a bit of my own personal surfing habits with you: Domains I never visit

.ru
.ch
.pl
.ua
.info

There are more. That’s my short list. If you see those in a URL, you probably should just squelch your curiosity and pass. I’m just saying.

Have a great weekend everybody. And please, exercise good, healthy, “paranoid common sense” when surfing the Internet. It’s a jungle out there. (And it ain’t gettin’ any better any time soon.)

* You see, by avoiding certain websites, and other “risky behaviors” online, you can avoid the vast majority of malware infections. (And thus, avoid having your “identity” stolen and used for fraud, or finding your savings account drained to $0.00….) Take the time to look at the URL.

Let’s say you want to find a recipe. Which of these two do you think is the better (aka ‘safer’) choice to click on?
1) Quick and easy recipes
http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes

2) Quick and easy recipes
http://www.goodeatin.info/recipes

Scam alert: Skype Scam – System Notice

“Many Skype users, are getting a rather disturbing call. It indicates that there is a problem with your computer and you should visit a site to repair your service. This is a complete scam.” Watch video..

A little Geek Speak: “Domain”. Um, well, this gets kind of complex. We have known them all these years as “dot com”, “dot net”, “dot org”, etc.. Basically, this is just a way to organize all the machines, by names. For those who actually want some understanding of TLD’s, click here.

Today’s quote:This is the true joy in life – being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; being a force of nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy.” ~ George Bernard Shaw

Wow: My thopto-bop-tommeter reads 105° (in the shade). It never gets that hot here…

Copyright 2007-2012 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

June 16, 2012 - Posted by | computers, Internet, Internet scam, News, tech |

10 Comments »

  1. That Skype scam isn’t restricted to Skype. I have had several calls on my land line, often purporting to be from Microsoft and referring to a problem they have observed on my computer. They would like me to give them access to my computer so they can fix it, and, of course, charge me for “fixing” it. The last time they called, my husband answered and said (quite truthfully), “You must have made a mistake, I have a Mac and I’m not connected to the Internet.” (He does have a very ancient Mac which he only uses to write short stories. When he needs to access the Internet, he uses my PC.) The fellow apologized, and so far we haven’t had another call.

    Like

    Comment by hermit2003 | June 16, 2012 | Reply

    • hermit2003,
      I haven’t heard of that recently.. but I posted this in Feb., 2011.
      Watch out for ‘Microsoft Tech Support’ scams (telephone)

      “I’m from Microsoft and I’m here to help.” At least, that’s what reader MP thought he heard when he answered the phone. It wasn’t.

      Con artists all over the world are bilking big bucks out of unsuspecting Microsoft customers — including savvy Windows users.

      I thank you for the reminder that we need to be ever on our guards.. even from nice-sounding folks on the telephone.

      (One of the joys of the modern world.)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. What’s a telephone anyway? I thought everyone has cell phones!

    Like

    Comment by segmation | June 16, 2012 | Reply

    • segmation,
      You mean those electronic leashes? No… not everyone. (Just 99%, or so..)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 17, 2012 | Reply

  3. In this Modern World…
    We Ponder…When did the “future switch” from being a Promise to being a Threat?

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | June 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Please don’t think I am trying to subtract from your point..

      But I want to be clear: my efforts here are not intended to make a reader think the future is a threat – who knows what marvelous things will be invented tomorrow? But I talk to people everyday who are old enough to remember never locking their front door.. much less their cars. Those days are long gone. Something changed. Now you not only lock your doors but have anti-theft alarms, and maybe cameras.
      Bars on the windows.

      The point of my efforts here is: the Internet is the modern criminal’s weapon of choice. We cannot be naive and trusting; we need to ‘lock our doors’; etc..
      Yet, an appalling number percentage of people believe the Internet is like your public library, or Disneyland, and everyone there is on their best behavior.. or simply do not know enough about the devices they are using to know how to lock the door.
      Some people even think there’s an “Internet police” force looking out for them …
      I am attempting to combat “tech ignorance”, and empower people so they will not be victims of cybercrime — a $100 billion dollar a year (that we know about) industry.

      The future for man could be very very bright. Who knows? A good start for that would be to stop breeding so efficiently. IMHO, there is not one problem mankind faces today that does not have – at its root – the cause of overpopulation. And I think that’s been true for a rather long time.
      (The Population Bomb was written in the late 60’s…)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 17, 2012 | Reply

  4. For recipes I like Chickens in the Road :)

    “The future for man could be very very bright. Who knows? A good start for that would be to stop breeding so efficiently.” I think mankind would be better off staying out of the shallow end of the gene pool…Period!

    I got one of those phone calls this afternoon..Bah!

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | June 18, 2012 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      So, they’re still at it, eh? No surprise really.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 18, 2012 | Reply

  5. Paul…I meant to get back here sooner. Re: Your reply to my comment and reference to the book …Population Bomb. Previously I had only read excerpts from it…but I read Wiki’s analysis of the book (even that’s a good read)

    While it’s contents is controversial… I am impressed with its logical analysis of humans, the planet, the global changes… Over Population ..and of course now what we know as the Tech World.

    I think the book is Timely … anyone with Modern Day concerns should read it. I call it… The Evolution of Humanity… I appreciate having my memory jogged! (the book) thanks Paul.

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | June 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Well.. hmmm. Certainly, the ‘problems’ have only grown since that book was published (and I think it was a best-seller) but the purpose of all life is to produce more life.

      In the 50 years (since publication) the only country/culture to take any steps along this line (and had the totalitarian “control” to force such change on a populace) was China, and their 1 child policy is currently under .. rebellion.

      There’s another problem, I think. The number of people who (can) read (entire) books is diminishing daily. But I am glad you appreciated my reference.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 19, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

