Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Both Sides Of Humanity?

Folks, I have a favor to ask of you today. Don’t worry.. it’s not a “big thing”.
All I ask is that you have your thinking caps on.. and look at this news item.

A Toronto man’s online fundraising campaign for a 68-year-old upstate New York grandmother is nearing $450,000, after a video showing the woman being bullied to tears by children on a school bus went viral.

Here is the link to the full story (which contains a link to the video): Bullied grandma in N.Y. bus video stunned by generosity

My thanks to the reader who alerted me to this story (you know who you are).

I am gratified that this particular story has a somewhat “happy ending”. And I think it is worth thinking about how the tech has changed things in our society. (The YouTube angle is kinda obvious.. so think deeper..)

I tip my cap to Max .

.. the comments left on that article are very interesting in their own right, and worth the read as well — but be prepared, there’s a lot of them!

Update: Folk, I simply have to recommend reading this as well: http://clotildajamcracker.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/the-continuing-tragedy-of-dear-sweet-old-karen-klein-heh-heh-heh-i-am-going-to-hell-for-this-one/

Today’s quote:The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches but to reveal to him his own.” ~ Benjamin Disraeli

(Maybe I should add… If you saw that and thought to yourself, “I have been abused.. mistreated.. where’s MY half million?” Yes. That’s wrong. Kinda’ normal and natural, I’d wager.. but ignoble, and I’m sure you can do better than that.)

Copyright 2007-2012 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

June 22, 2012 - Posted by | News

13 Comments »

  1. Yes…that’s an amazing article! I think a wide range of “deep thoughts” can be applied to this subject. Your mention of how “tech has changed things”…via U-tube…so true!

    I’m seeing a segment of society that is generous…coming together when the need is there. Similiar situations has been happening in many instances, of which tends to get over looked. I think there’s times where we have become too busy to notice.

    …and yes, Paul, Max’s comment is commendable… you further said it “well”

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | June 22, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      I have received several private communications inre this “viral video” news story, but so far you are the only public commenter. I thank you for participating (and encourage other to join in). Yes, there are many “levels” to this story. I hope it will get people thinking.

      I mean.. one thing.. it’s clear to me that “average humans” are no longer capable of raising their own kids, so I say we need to remove all children to special camps – Tech Paul Boot Camps – before it’s too late, and these monsters reach voting age.

      I kid! I’m joking!

      Not all kids.. obviously.

      (Maybe that’ll stir up some comment action.)(Ha!)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 22, 2012 | Reply

  2. First of all, I was raised to respect all elders and this just would not have happened on my school bus. Second of all, if it had happened, i don’t think I would be sitting comfortably EVEN today, the principal and my parents would have seen to that. NTM, I would probably still be on restriction.

    Now “clotildajamcracker” had an interesting spin on this incident. I do believe ppl have taken this way too far. Extreme…..

    Food for thought…

    21 Pictures That Will Restore Your Faith In Humanity

    And then another one..where’s her money???

    Woman gives gropers a kung fu beatdown | World | News | Niagara Falls Review

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | June 23, 2012 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      While I did appreciate the respite – and did my best to encourage the media to keep writing such stories, even though the M.O. in Journalism is If It Bleeds It Leads – I am afraid it is going to take more than 21 photographs…

      (So if you see more, send ’em!)(Ha!)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. Not even gonna try…

    But what, if anything, does this say about society at large? Many things one could argue, but, for me, it is a remarkably apt metaphor for this moment in the American discourse in which hostility has been drawn out into the sunlight.

    Those boys are us, or at least too many of us: America at its ugliest. It is that part of society that sees the weak and vulnerable as worthy of derision and animus.

    This kind of behavior is not isolated to children and school buses and suburban communities. It stretches to the upper reaches of society — our politics and our pulpits and our public squares.

    Whether it is a Republican debate audience booing a gay soldier or Rush Limbaugh’s vicious attack on a female Georgetown law student or Newt Gingrich’s salvos at the poor, bullying has become boilerplate. Hiss and taunt. Tease and intimidate. Target your enemies and torture them mercilessly. Maintain primacy through predation.”

    Bullies on the Bus – NYTimes.com

    We have become “either you are with us or against us” Society…and it helps if you have the numbers on your side…

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | June 23, 2012 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      This “viral video” does seem to have people talking…

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 23, 2012 | Reply

  4. Someone sent me this…So I am sharing…



    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | June 23, 2012 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      Why, you know something? If advertisements were all like that one? Well, one of my favorite rants might just – POOF! – vanish into thin air.

      Thank you for sharing that. (I actually smiled a little bit watching that.. whadya know? Grouchy mean-ole me..)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 23, 2012 | Reply

      • Must be crunchy on the outside and gooey in the inside.. :)

        Like

        Comment by delenn13 | June 25, 2012 | Reply

        • delenn13,
          Grr!

          Snarl!

          Grouch & Grumble!

          See? Curmudgeon.

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | June 25, 2012 | Reply

          • Guaranteed to make you smile!

            I just found out my favorite internet dancer is back.

            “While the charm if this somewhat goofy guy dancing his silly dance in exotic locales is what initially made the videos so irresistible, they have progressively zeroed in on a message of joy, communication, humanism and curiosity. In this installment, Harding not only dances with people all over the world, he dances their dance.”

            Dancing 2012: Matt Harding Returns With New Dance Around The World Viral Video and he’s got a baby too. :)

            And if you missed the other ones..

            Where the Hell is Matt? 2006 – YouTube

            Where the Hell is Matt? 2008 – YouTube

            Like

            Comment by delenn13 | June 25, 2012 | Reply

            • delenn13,
              I see he has his own “channel” on YouTube…

              And thanks. That’s certainly better than what’s available on TV’s Primetime Lineup these days!

              (Even if it is a bit warm and fuzzy..)

              Like

              Comment by techpaul | June 25, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

