Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

And Now A Few Words From Our Sponsor…

Hard to believe I have been posting daily advice and How-To articles for over 5 years now. (More than 1,800 of them.) When I first started writing, Microsoft had just changed the game a bit by releasing an operating system named “Vista”, and switched from Menu bars to the “Ribbon”. Apple had just changed the game a bit by releasing a little gadget called an “iPhone”…

And I often find it hard to believe it has been 15 years since I built my first PC. (A Pentium II, if you’re curious.)

Time goes so fast, doesn’t it?

Those of you who found me, (out of the millions of other websites [nobody knows how many there actually are..]) and followed along, have probably learned a little bit about me, and are familiar with my pet “mantras”.

  • Do not open emails from strangers (and no, you did not just win the Online Lottery)!
  • If it connects to the Internet, it needs an up-to-date antivirus!
  • Just say YES to updates (and visit the Secunia scanner) and keep all your installed software up-to-date!
  • Exercise healthy paranoid common sense online (because they are out to get you)!
  • The only reason you were allowed on the Internet is so that “they” can show you advertisements (for crap you don’t need)!

Oh, there’s more… (such as Facebook, and the dead concept known as personal privacy..) but you already know them by heart, as you’ve “subscribed” to my feed. Right?

Recently, though, I have been thinking I should add a few new “mantras”.

* I don’t care if it’s earning the paycheck, saving the world from Evil Super Villians, or picking your nose — 15 hours a day is unnatural and unhealthy.

* Get outside and build yourself a treehouse (say it is for the kids, if you’re worried what others might think) and also go fishing.

* End the viscous circle — Boycott movies like Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (See, Sinking To A New Low)

* Plant a garden, or at least a tomato bush.

Oh, there’s more… but I am going to follow my own advice and shut down. Get outside. Because everything online sure seems to be geared for the demographic –> teenage girl. And I am not one.

I just need to update my status, and tell foursquare where I’m going first…

Have a great day everybody!

Today’s quote:You’ve got a lot of choices. If getting out of bed in the morning is a chore and you’re not smiling on a regular basis, try another choice.” ~ Steven D. Woodhull

Copyright 2007-2012 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

August 1, 2012 - Posted by | advice, blogging

6 Comments »

  1. Teenage age girls??? Naw.

    ?????????? – PONPONPON
    ?????????? – CANDY CANDY
    ?????????? – ????????TV ??????ID

    I think I am bleeding “Pink”. Egads!

    Gotta go water my tomatoes.:)

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | August 1, 2012 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      I am open to the possibility I am wrong about that.

      But I should post the HP advertising for their new line of laptops/ultrabooks… It kinda shows what I mean..

      Make a bold impression.
      Stand out from the crowd with the chic, new g-Series Notebooks. Available in two display sizes and a variety of powerful processor options. Show your true style with one of the vibrant optional colors!”

      Complete the look.
      Style savvy accessories from HP.”

      (Time to sell your HP stocks?)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oops, Sorry.

    I forgot to say. Congrats on your 5 years. That is a lot of hard work and dedication.

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | August 1, 2012 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      If anyone had warned me ……………

      (And thank you.)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 1, 2012 | Reply

  3. Congrats Paul on your 5 year anniversary…. you wrote lots of good articles during that time here.
    Some people say Time Is Like Gold…it is Rare…we must Cherish those Moments…we cannot take it back!

    Gaia

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | August 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Hopefully, I have helped a few people along the way.

      Thank you.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 1, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

