Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Canadian Drug Shortage Explained

I think I have figured out why Canada must be having a medical crisis – due to a shortage of drugs..

The pharmacists are taking the drugs and then selling them out the back door, over the Internet..

I guess.

My  understanding is that this has been going for some time now.. If they keep this up, Canada will surely run out.

Those all came in last night. The spambots are busy, as usual!

Did you know? Some experts say that as much as 90% of all the “traffic” on the Internet, at any given moment, is spam email being sent. Been true for over a decade, now. Isn’t that fantastic! I wonder how much electricity that is wasting. I wonder how much longer the problem will be ignored. I wonder how the spammers can sleep at night/live with themselves.

But mostly I wonder at anyone who could respond to an email like this so they could get their little blue pill cheaper. (Or, think the IRS emailed them..)

Did you know?  Most spam (junk email) comes from our machines – not some bad guy’s computer in some foreign country. Yes. Our machines, that have been infected with malware because we let our antivirus expire, and cannot be bothered by that Java update thingy. (And giving our old, Windows ME units to our kids/Dear Sweet Aunt Nellie..)

• Do not open emails from strangers (and no, you did not just win the Online Lottery)!

• If it connects to the Internet, it needs an up-to-date antivirus!

• Just say YES to updates (and visit the Secunia scanner) and keep all your installed software up-to-date!

• Exercise healthy paranoid common sense online (because they are out to get you)!

• The only reason you were allowed on the Internet is so that “they” can show you advertisements (for crap you don’t need)!

If you want to know whether – it just may be – that your machine has had a spambot virus put onboard by some drive-by download, visit Trend Micro’s Housecall and run the scanner.

.. crazy world ..
Well.. I guess that is the most fun you can have for 67¢ these days…………………..

Today’s quote:Have a heart that never hardens, a temper that never tires, a touch that never hurts.” ~ Charles Dickens

Copyright 2007-2012 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

August 14, 2012 - Posted by | Internet, spam and junk mail

4 Comments »

  1. Yes, Canada’s Drug Shortage Explained… that subject is Old News…but the “Points you make here Paul should further be widely known;” even though that info.has even made the National News a long time ago. It is not much noticed or mentioned by people. Even the local media tend to ignore it. People ignore bad news…especially when they have no control over it.

    Yes, some patients had to do without their drugs or take a substitute…a sad situation to say the least.

    Please Excuse this personal note: I count my blessings that the only thing I take is my Organic Supplements…along with a healthy diet…that keeps me healthy.

    gaia

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | August 14, 2012 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Huh. I have/had absolutely no idea about the Canadian health care system. Today’s article was just an “artistic license” kind of way to get people thinking about the disaster we call “spam” (because so many spam emails are V1@gra/”canadian pharmacy” spam), and hopefully think about whether or not their antivirus is up-to-date, and why they want updates.
      I’d like to see people start protesting this *stuff*, so maybe something could be done beyond the utterly ineffectual CAN-SPAM act. (What a happy handjob that thing is.)

      And, yes, I am a fan of a healthy diet, some moderate exercise, and I even take a few “vitamins”. And reading. I am a big fan of reading, too.
      (But I am beginning to think of it as a lost art.)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 14, 2012 | Reply

      • Paul further to your suggestion re: “Canadian Drug Shortage Explained …that we people should start protesting that stuff I agree totally.

        I have always been an activist over important issues, but now I just “lay back and complain over some issues.”. To take action is a lot of work, and it’s necessary to live in a Conscientious Mentally Interested Climate for people to take an interest. Also, people are too busy/tired getting on with their lives; especially based on the changes and infrastructures in governments/new world.

        Also, your source: you describe it as an “Artists License” meaning how the “spammers present the ads”?

        I have never opened those spam ads for the “little blue pill”…I don’t know what they say.
        Canadian Pharmacy Spam…that is so wrong. Yes, we need to take that to the streets.

        Like

        Comment by Gaia | August 15, 2012 | Reply

        • Gaia,
          “Canadian pharmacy” is a category of “spam”, like “Romantic comedy” is a category of “movies”. (And I am glad to hear you say you have never opened one. The criminals use psychology to try to make a come-on arouse curiosity/greed/etc., and so the Rule: if you do not know the sender, delete unopened.) Yesterday’s article was written simply because an unusually large number of them came in.. but they are very common.

          As for your other point, and “take to the streets”, well, there are many other issues/causes of a higher priority — too many. Spam is a “pet peeve” of mine, and it illustrates the fact that the Internet is flawed and being seriously abused. It is a problem that ‘s been around for a very long time. I am almost at the point now where, if somebody were to be scammed or infected by a Dearly Beloved or UPS Delivery Notice email, I’d feel they deserved whatever they got.

          I am not sure what the answer is. What we little guys can do. I mean, for the last year or so, I get so many telemarketing calls – every day – that I have stopped answering the phone and let my machine screen all my calls. I thought about canceling my phone service, but that isn’t a practical/realistic solution. And, yes, we have laws (and a useless Do Not Call List) that are supposed to make spam calls (telemarketing) illegal. (I am beginning to think we need to make it a death penalty offense.)

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | August 15, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

