Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Posting On An Apple

Well folks, I never thought I’d be typing these (next) words, but I am writing today’s article on a Mac. An “iMac” to be exact.

apple-imacAnd the first thing I have to say is, the mouse is okay, but sheeze, this keyboard sucks. Um, I meant, “is really going to take some getting used to”.

And using Apple “apps” is going to take some getting used to as well. For instance, I had a heck of a time finding how to change the size of this JPEG in iPhoto. (Export??!! Really??)

And Safari doesn’t handle the WordPress WYSIWYG editor quite the same as my Windows machines do.

And the “Command” key (the “Apple key”) is in the wrong place. (Same functions as Ctrl on my PC’s.)

Yes. Quite a bit to learn…

But it isn’t as “different” as one might think. Most things are very much the same.

Connecting my webmails to the Apple Mail program was not difficult, and adding my Google Calender to iCal was rather painless, and it’s working (“sync”-ing) fine.

I installed Avast! for Mac on it yesterday, and like it so far. (And it’s free.)

I’ll report more as it happens.

Copyright 2007-2013 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

February 6, 2013 - Posted by | Apple, computers | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. What’s going on???!!!! I’m a firm Apple “hater,” but I just bought an iPad last week! I’ll have to say that I really hate it thus far, especially getting used to the “faux” multi-tasking on it. I never realized how much I used the multi-tasking on my S3 and Android tablets until I didn’t have it available!!!

    I got it to familiarize myself with it as more and more of my clients have them and are starting to need help. I’d rather suck it up and learn it than have them go somewhere else!

    Good luck! :)

    Like

    Comment by TucsonMatt | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • TucsonMatt,
      Sounds like we’re on the same page. (Though I will not buy an iPad!)

      I won’t go into the dropped-iGadget-broken-screen replacement field, as so many already have, but I did finally go into the Apple hardware repair arena. My iMac is an assemblage from parts obtained free.

      Now I have an Intel Mac to go with my PowerPC G3; and OS 9 thru OS X 10.6 (doubt I’m going to upgrade to .7 or .8 — I’m not an Apple Store kind of guy..)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | February 7, 2013 | Reply

      • Well, in my case I got the 64GB with WiFi, Cellular, and Bluetooth keyboard for $200.00, so I figured for that price I couldn’t go wrong!

        Like

        Comment by TucsonMatt | February 7, 2013 | Reply

        • TucsonMatt,
          No. That’s not bad at all. Are you going to need iCloud?

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | February 7, 2013 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

