Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

RIP KsTinMan

Folks, I hope you’ll forgive me this “non-tech” digression.

Yesterday, I learned that a friend of this blog (and this writer) had passed away the other day. Some of you may have noticed the helpful comments “KsTinMan” had posted here over the years (in fact, his most recent is still showing in my “Recent comments” widget), but – did or didn’t –  that is immaterial: his input was appreciated. I think it likely he helped a person or two (dozens?) with his contributions.

It kind of.. um, er, “blows my mind” (to use a little Kallyfornyah lingo) to think upon it that I will never see his name in my comments (or Inbox) ever again (even though this is far from my first meeting with Death or Loss) and I cannot help but to think of the man’s family, and friends, … Which brings me to my point.

Though it is an unpleasant topic, mourning – from Death and/or Loss, well, I wager, it just may be something you, Dear Reader, or someone you know, is going through. As best you/they can.
Or have gone through. (As best you/they could.)

Since it is (so often) such a huge thing in Life, it’s puzzling (to me) why so many (I include myself) are so ill prepared for it, and “don’t talk about it”, and (sometimes) pretend it doesn’t exist.. And it’s awkward: what do you say to someone who recently lost a loved one? Sorry? (Well, yes. That can be a good thing to say..)

Pain.

An injury.

white_roseI haven’t always handled these things well (perhaps the Understatement Of The Week Award winner right there..) and so I suspect some of you may be having trouble “handling” grief and grieving yourselves (or know someone who is). For those, or if you are simply interested in learning more, I have found I agree with the content of this page, and think it maybe could help. And some of you might be interested in this website as well. (i understand there’s a Facebook app for this as well..)

I hope I didn’t depress you, Dear Reader, or cause you to (painfully) remember old injury, and ruin your day. But the fact you read this far.. maybe remembering your loss, well.. I won’t get metaphysical. I’ll simply say I bet you’ve known some wonderful people (I include faithful and loving pets in that “people”). And I understand what it is to miss them. And I’ll leave off with this: please be kind to those wonderful people you know who are still here with us.

Rest in peace, KsTinMan, and thank you.

Today’s quote:Look at everything as though you were seeing it either for the first or last time. Then your time on earth will be filled with glory.” ~ Betty Smith

Copyright 2007-2013 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

September 10, 2013 - Posted by | blogging | ,

10 Comments »

  1. Kind and thoughtful words. Very appropriate to give this serious thought on 9/11.

    Like

    Comment by SE | September 11, 2013 | Reply

    • SE,
      Thank you. And though the timing is/was coincidental, it surely is a day of remembrance for many.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | September 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi Paul,

    So sad to hear this. I always enjoyed reading his helpful comments. My condolences to his family. He will be sorely missed.

    delenn

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | September 11, 2013 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      And let me – at the risk of repeating myself – thank you again for your participation here on Tech – for Everyone.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | September 11, 2013 | Reply

      • Thank you.

        Like

        Comment by delenn13 | September 11, 2013 | Reply

  3. Just tuning in here…

    So surprised and sorry to read about the passing of K S Tin Man. His comments were certainly informative and interesting. He will be greatly missed here… and to his family: I wish to pass on my condolences.

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | September 11, 2013 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      Yes. He will be missed.

      I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your participation here on Tech – for Everyone as well. (Without your support, the Sunday Beauty feature probably would have faded away. As it is, I’ve posted over a hundred and plan to keep going.)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | September 11, 2013 | Reply

  4. Just tuning in here…
    Looking at his past post[s] and a Google, he was a good man. All who possess that adjective are missed, a lot—not till after the fact.

    My comment concerns the period for those shortly prior to passing, the aging, sick, or terminally ill. I am disappointed by those base communities of society have not done more for humanity during this critical period of time. One of those would be the medical community in reference to palliative care [medicinal or otherwise]. With reference to the otherwise, the other community would be the religious community. Neither one has done what can/should be done to be able to comfort that person physically nor to prepare that person mentally/emotionally [albeit, spiritually], for greeting/entering the hereafter. And I do not mean the traditional Biblical sense. That document[s] was created thousands of years ago, during a similarly-aged knowledge level. We need to update our level of theoretical thinking and understanding, then apply it to our teaching [ I hope I have not offended anyone by those statements—It was not my intention whatsoever.].

    In closing, best in the future, whatever your core belief set, for KSTinMan.

    Sam

    Like

    Comment by holmwel | September 12, 2013 | Reply

    • Good to see you here again Sam.

      I had the privilege of getting to know him, and you’re right. He was (I have a word for it. I call it “caliber” [don’t ask me why]) and he will be.

      And I don’t care if you offended anyone. Sometimes the truth stings.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | September 12, 2013 | Reply

    • Sam: Kudos for publicly expressing your feelings and beliefs about issues that plague humanity. ..this subject is extensive.

      I agree with the need to “update our level of theoretical thinking and understanding”… again, this subject is extensive, interesting and in need of “deeper thoughts.” for the many who sit back and watch the world unfold with blinders on.

      Like

      Comment by Gaia | September 13, 2013 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

