Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Privacy, Your Data, and Who Has Access to It (video)

This video may be an opener, and you may already know (most of) it, but IMHO it is worth your time.

It doesn’t take a top-secret government spy agency armed with the latest surveillance gear to gather information about you.

[ Note: if you do not hear sound, hover your cursor over the little speaker icon to expose the volume control slider, and ‘slide’ it to the right. ]

Today’s quote:Common sense is not so common.” ~ Voltaire

Copyright 2007-2013 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

October 4, 2013 - Posted by | advice, cloud computing, computers, Google, Internet, privacy, tech, Web 2.0

4 Comments »

  1. Paul,
    Glad I am starting to remember to use My Tor browser(I probably should use it more) and the Start page, Duck duck Go, and Ixquick Search Engines.

    Like

    Comment by delenn13 | October 5, 2013 | Reply

    • delenn13,
      And thus the ‘joke’ -> “Google knows more about you than your spouse does.”

      Part of me says, the way most people are/have been using the Internet (primarily ‘social media’) it’s already far, far too late for them to start worrying about what’s been profiled. The picture is complete.
      And another part of me says it’s never too late to get smart. And I do hope that, someday, “Liz” will know better than to post “I’m leaving for the airport now. Hawaii, here we come!” (aka “my house is vacant for a week”)

      * Some time ago I posted DDG (And Your Online Privacy).
      * And this is the 411 about ixquick: 10 Ways Ixquick Helps You Take Back Your Privacy (See the video clip on number 5).

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. The info. on this vid (a great vid) has been around for some time…yet people are still announcing their lives to the world.

    I’ve heard comments such as “oh that will never happen to me”! Is it “naivety, gambling on safety or an I don’t care attitude”?

    Anyway Paul… perhaps Reminders such as this will open a brain or two… that is… IF THIS IS READ. ( Me being an info. junkie, I like to think others read for info. as well)

    Like

    Comment by Gaia | October 6, 2013 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      All I can do is add my voice to those making an effort to raise awareness (aka “savvy”), which I have been doing (here) for years. I happen to think doing so is a matter of National Security. (And, October is NATIONAL CYBER SECURITY AWARENESS MONTH.) And I think this video demonstrates how things (they may already know) are tied together, in a way that many haven’t stopped to consider.

      As for people’s attitudes, from what I’ve seen, they run the spectrum: from “I like targeted ads” to “who cares?” to “thats just how it is” all the way to extreme paranoia (“the NSA is out to get me”). (Click on the YouTube symbol on the video player to go to the video’s source page, and read the comments people have left there.)

      Bottom line is – “tech” and the Internet has become intertwined into modern life. Even if we individuals “go off the grid” and turn all our devices off, we haven’t escaped tracking/surveillance, data collection, or the risk of identity theft, or having our info posted for all to see (our house on Google “street view”, for example), etc.. So my hope is they will slow down and Stop. Think. Click.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 6, 2013 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

