Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Can we be serious for a minute?

Personally, I don’t find this “humorous image” funny at all..

white_out

as I could tell you stories. (And, when you think on it, the reason “personal computers” became so popular in the first place [back in the Beginning] was because they did away with White Out correcting fluid, and/or whole-document retyping [Some of you may remember. I sure do!]. PC’s have come a long way since they were the next generation of [IBM] electric typewriters..)

And I don’t find this funny either..

OracleJavaLatest

Though the idea of someone thinking the “Ask toolbar” is something they might find helpful is rather absurd.. Again I say, shame on you, Oracle!

And, I don’t find this funny at all either. (I know. I usually post a Friday Fun video.. but not today.)

It is said that laughter is the best medicine, and I won’t argue the veracity of that, but I will suggest the second best is performing an act of kindness. And I hope you all know, I’m very serious when I say, let’s all have a terrific weekend, okay?

audrey_hepburnToday’s quote:For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.” ~ Audrey Hepburn

Copyright 2007-2014 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.
And please, never forget – one person can make a difference.
Find a way to make someone’s day today.
(Best advice I ever heard? Don’t sweat the small stuff.)

April 18, 2014 - Posted by | advice, computers, consumer electronics, Internet, tech |

4 Comments »

  1. My boss used Google Toolbar, and then I disabled it to make his computer go faster. He was excited about the speed difference, but then didn’t know how to Google anymore. :( Got him set up in Chrome in the meantime.

    I’ve never seen someone try to White-out a computer screen, though.

    Like

    Comment by Samantha | April 18, 2014 | Reply

    • Samantha, a pleasure to see your name here again.

      That image is making the rounds in one of those circulating ’email forwards’.. and while I’ve never seen white-out on a monitor screen either, I have seen some pretty amazing ‘clueless user’ things in my RL job…. You know the ones.. You don’t know whether to laugh, or cry?
      (I’d like to say I see them less frequently, as time goes by, but..)

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | April 18, 2014 | Reply

      • I certainly have too, and that’s why I’m leaning toward belief on that one. :)

        Like

        Comment by Samantha | April 18, 2014 | Reply

        • Samantha,
          I forget who said it, but the idea goes along the lines: for something to be funny, it has to contain a certain amount of truth.

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | April 18, 2014 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

