Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Quick Tips for Internet Explorer

Do you surf the Internet? Do you use Internet Explorer? According to the statistics, the odds are pretty good that you will answer “yes” and “yes”. Because of those facts, I have written many articles IE_logocontaining advice and tips for getting the most out of Internet Explorer, and how to troubleshoot ‘glitches’ when they occur.

I have listed links to my more popular tips, and I invite you to scan the topic titles, and see if any catch your eye.
(The bottom link will present all my Internet Explorer articles by date.)

Restore Missing Favorites In IE*

Internet Explorer Runtime Error!!*

Quick Tip: Turn on ClearType in Internet Explorer

Can’t Download? Reset IE

How To Clear Your Cache

View Multiple Mail Identities in One Browser

Extracting text from Web pages*

Precautions for your Internet privacy*

Quick Tip: Customize new tabs behavior

IE’s Menu bar, Taskbar icons, and bad Updates*

What is a “homepage”?

How to use tabs in IE 7

Saving webpages as files

For more of my IE tips and repair advice, click here.

Copyright 2007-9 © Tech Paul. All rights reserved. post to jaanix

Share this post :

June 29, 2009 - Posted by | advice, browsers, computers, how to, IE 7, Internet, software, tech | , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. TechPaul,

    I very much appreciate all the effort you have made in putting together such a great list of IE tips.

    Thank you.

    Bill

    Like

    Comment by Bill Mullins | June 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Mr. Mullins,
      You are very kind, sir, and I thank you. I hope that people will find the information useful.

      Speaking of “information” and “useful”, your website Tech Thoughts is certainly a champion in that regard! I hope you will keep writing for a very long while to come.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. what is internet explorer?

    sorry. i couldn’t resist.

    Like

    Comment by g | June 29, 2009 | Reply

    • g,
      Been a while, eh? Yeah, there are still some sites that require it…

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 29, 2009 | Reply

      • isn’t that what i.e. tab is for? lol

        Like

        Comment by g | June 30, 2009 | Reply

        • g,
          It might surprise you how many folks are unfamiliar with “tabbed browsing”, and the default was “Open in a new window” (I think that was fixed in IE 8).

          Granted… tabs have been around for years, and people should know…

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. Internet Explorer still exists? It is just amazing how long crapware can continue to be used. Oh well.

    But in all seriousness, thanks for putting together the list. As much as I despise IE, especially since I am a web developer, they have made a lot of progress. Guess the swift kick in the arse they got from Firefox, Safari, Chrome, and Opera finally sunk in.

    -Pjerky

    Like

    Comment by Pjerky | June 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Pjerky,
      I am going to take your comment as an opportunity to once again remind my readers that my personal daily browser is the latest Firefox, and that I have the Add-ons NoScript, Flashblock, and AdBlock Plus.
      I also use Sandboxie.

      I absolutely despair when I see the percentage of people still browsing with IE 6…

      Thank you for your comment.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | June 29, 2009 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question