Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

The Internet

“.. fraudsters see the Internet as Man’s greatest invention ..

I overheard a conversation between two ladies the other day. One was expressing her frustration and anger due to her discovery that her new online ‘friend’ turned out to be much older and heavier than shown in his photo…

Capture (2)

(note: I would gladly give proper attribution for this picture if I could figure out its source. It is [I believe] a spin off of the popular Demotivators posters..)

She seemed to be surprised by the discrepancy. Me? I always use a Tom Cruise picture.
.. All joking aside: I hope this will remind you (and it might be a good idea to remind your children) that everything is not always as it appears.

And other times, it is: can you say “scam”?

spam folder

The Netherlands Lottery Says I've Won $2.5 mil

Note: I post that picture from time to time; usually with a reference to the online sex trade (“meet Fungirl22″). There is no doubt in my mind that fraudsters see the Internet as Man’s greatest invention, and they are taking full advantage of it.

While this woman was simply a “victim” of someone putting up an older, more flattering photo of themselves, criminals and creeps have been known to “pose” for much more serious (and dangerous) reasons and try to strike up “chats” with our children. It is a fact that our children are getting online at quite a young age these days, and IMHO they need to be told that the “new Friend on Facebook” may not be their friend at all.

Unrelated: Why the Space Shuttle had to be put out to pasture

“Many will lament the end of the Space Shuttle program. But I can’t wait until the last orbiter gets sent to the boneyard.Read more..

Unrelated #2: I think I know, now, why my recent forays as a fishermen met with such poor results – I was using the wrong method. Next time I am going to try what these guys do.

Silly me. I was using tackle

Copyright 2007-2011 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


July 12, 2011 - Posted by | advice, cyber crime, Internet, Internet scam, security, tech

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Paul…read today’s blog…interesting subjects…but I’m watching again the vid of the fisherman it’s hilarious…a good laugh. Yes,…try that method next time…you’ll get your 18 fish/carp.

    Gaia

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Anonymous | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Gaia,
      I found myself chuckling quite a bit myself.

      I had heard “it jumped right into my boat” stories, but…

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by techpaul | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. TechPaul,

    Some of those fish were getting some great “hang time”… I think I would have a pair of safety googles on!

    Rick

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Ramblinrick | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hello

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Rahul Kumar | January 30, 2021 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question