Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

A Winter Saturday…

I know that several thousand of you are just itching to know my Playoff picks. I know this because several (read: “nobody”) have written and asked me. So, here you go:
Playoff Picks

For those of you who are curious, I also pick none of these 4 to make it to the Championship.

In the Tech Department (this is, after all, a tech Website), I have been sitting on a news item for some time now. I have been sitting on it because I simply haven’t decided on how I want to write it up.

Actually, I know how I want to write it up, as this has me so mad (and depressed) that I want to lash out. But I am not at all sure how to present it to you, Dear Reader.
Is your “average computer user” mind ready for the implications?

So.. Maybe I will come back to this.. Maybe I will wait for Reader’s Reactions (in the Comments).. In the meantime, I will just give you the ‘blurb’, and let you read the facts for yourselves. I hope you will think about the “state of the Internet” while you do so..

“Researchers at security firm Finjan have discovered details of a new type of banking Trojan horse that as well as stealing your bank login credentials, also steals money from your account while you are logged in and falsely displays the balance you expect to see.”

Please click here to read the whole article.

Have a pleasant weekend.

Copyright 2007-9 © Tech Paul. All rights reserved.jaanix post to jaanix

Share this post :

January 9, 2010 - Posted by | computers, cyber crime, Internet, News | , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Paul,

    Being a resident of Saint Paul and an honest life-long fan (they didn’t exist until 1962) of the MN Vikings, it does my cold heart (-7 at 11 am today) good to see you don’t expect the Packers to make it to the SB.

    Of course you don’t say what you think of the Vikes yet either.

    Ron

    Like

    Comment by Ron | January 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Ron,
      It may surprise you to hear, but I actually am rather familiar with Minnesota, and so I don’t hesitate to tell you it is 52° here now… and I don’t think I could survive -7°. Yikes!

      Born and raised a Niners fan, it is only natural that I developed a dislike (though.. grudging respect) for Brett Favre and Troy Aikman.
      Do I think Brett is a Hall of Famer? Yes.
      Minnesota winning? Well.. I just don’t see it happening this year.
      But I’ve been wrong before. And it would be kinda nice to see the Vike’s in the Big Game.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | January 9, 2010 | Reply

      • I never use the word ‘hate’ other than in my declaration for the Cowboy’s. But to see “The Gun Slinger” able to use all the weapons the Vikes have this season in the BIG one, after having lost four of those buggers, would be super…Go Vikes

        Like

        Comment by Ron Lansverk | January 10, 2010 | Reply

        • Ron,
          Well, I seem to be doing quite poorly in the Predictions Department, so… who knows?

          I will say this, though.. it has been a hard lot being a 49er fan lately…

          Like

          Comment by techpaul | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. Interesting article! Keep up the good work!

    Like

    Comment by Tehnologie si Gadgeturi, Stiri IT | January 11, 2010 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question