Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Sunday nights at my house

Mondays. Yuk.

Sunday nights were special nights when I was a lad. My statistics show that quite a decent percentage of my readers will recognize these short video clips.. and understand what I mean.

Which was followed by..

Yes.
Television before “ripped from the headlines” dramas, and “Reality TV”. A few decades ago, now. (My, how time passes..) Many things have changed with the years. Agreed?

When I was boy, wearing my PJ’s (with feeties) and watching these shows, there were still many things that hadn’t been invented yet– such as cell phones, ATM cash machines, magnetic stripe readers, video games, CD’s or DVD’s or VHS/Betamax (we had 8-Track tapes).. heck, we didn’t even have cordless phones yet, much less personal computers.
For fun, we skipped rope, played soccer, threw dirtclods/water balloons, rode bicycles, and read books. (Don’t snicker too much, you younger readers; we had Lawn Darts [fun for the whole family!])

Lawn Darts

Lawn Darts

I am a member of what is known as “Gen-X” (as in, mysterious).. the first generation after the “Baby Boomers”.
As I understand it, there’s also a “Generation Y“.. and even a “Gen-Z”.
Som Gen-Y fun facts, according to Wikipedia:
97% own a computer
94% own a cell phone
76% use Instant Messaging and social networking sites.
15% of IM users are logged on 24 hours a day/7 days a week
34% use websites as their primary source of news
28% author a blog and 44% read blogs
97% have downloaded music and other media using peer-to-peer file sharing
49% regularly download music and other media using peer-to-peer file sharing
75% of college students have a Facebook account
60% own some type of portable music and/or video device such as an iPod.
I think some of those numbers are on the low side. Like, by a lot.

Needless to say, I don’t view the world in quite the same way as a Gen-Y does.
There is a definite “gap”.

I’m not sure where I intended to go with this.. so I think I’ll stop. I will continue long enough to tell you that more of my thoughts on this can be read by clicking this link https://techpaul.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/the-new-generation-gap/
And I will invite you to leave your thoughts on this as comments.

I’m pretty sure I have more to say, but….

Copyright 2007-8 &copy Tech Paul. All rights reserved.jaanixpost to jaanix

Share this post :

July 28, 2008 - Posted by | computers, tech | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. OMG, we’re you living at MY HOUSE!?!?!?

    Those Sunday nights were awesome… poor, Jim.

    I think, technically, I missed being a boomer by one year. I’m definitely Gen-X but I’m guilty of all those Gen-Y traits you listed.

    Thank gawd I don’t act my age.

    Like

    Comment by Gadzooks64 | July 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. Gadzooks64–
    Did you have Jiffy-Pop (red label)?

    Like

    Comment by techpaul | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. Funny you should mention that, Jiffy-Pop is showing up in the stores again. I bought some to make with my kids. They don’t seem quite as awed by it as I remember being.

    Like

    Comment by gadzooks64 | August 18, 2008 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question