Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

2 Comments »

  1. TechPaul,

    It is most surprising when I set down at a PC and the person I am assisting never performs these steps; even, after CCleaner has been installed to assist them with this process.

    Hey, I like the list of related articles.

    Rick

    Like

    Comment by Ramblinrick | August 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Rick,
      As you know, much like a car needs “routine maintenance” (oil change, tire rotation, tune up, etc.) to stay ‘running safe + right’, the artificial intelligence in a box (your PC) needs regular maintenance too; and when ignored troubles will appear down the road. (Usually, it seems, the longer maintenance is ignored, the more expensive the fix.)

      I used to – once a month like clockwork – remind people to make a backup and run routine maintenance, and I told them how.

      Until I realized that people would not read those articles.
      Real “ratings bombs” they were.
      For a while.. like a year.. I went ahead and posted them anyway.
      But I quit. I mean, why bother? Those who are interested already know, and those who aren’t will toddle along until their machine doesn’t work. Then they will call upon their nephew, or “geeky neighbor”, for free tech support.
      Human nature.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | August 10, 2010 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question