Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Shameful

I know few who read me are football (American “football”) fans. But something happened in a game today I feel compelled to say something about. A player, a quarterback, playing for a team that hasn’t had many winning games of late, was knocked unconscious in a home game, and the hometown fans cheered.

What does that say about us as a culture? As a people?

I say, it says we’ve sunk pretty low, too *dang* low, and odds are, we’re doomed. This player says it exactly right: Eric Winston: Fans cheering Matt Cassel’s injury are ‘sickening’.

Source: The Kansas City Star
(click to read their article)

I would like very much to tell the world we (Americans) are not all obese morons; that some of our schoolchildren actually can read and make change for a dollar. But evidence would make me a liar.

Sickened.

Appalled.

And, Matt? I wouldn’t play for those people again iffin I were you. Make ’em pay me, but sit on the bench. Wow.

And if I lived in K.C.? I think maybe I’d lie about that fact.

Yes, I know fans acting badly at sporting events is nothing new, nor limited to the USA. But, cheering an injury.. Repugnant.

October 7, 2012 - Posted by | News

4 Comments »

  1. Seemed like a good day to sleep in. But, I was wrong… again. That cost me the opportunity to make a timely post on this subject. I for one was proud of Winston, and was saddened by a rant made by a local sports radio host (Bob Fescoe) on KCTV 5 saying that he thought Eric was out of line with his statement. That channel has just lost a viewer. I’m not ashamed to be from KC, but I sure am ashamed of our fair weather fans. Thanks TechPaul for this article!

    Like

    Comment by KsTinMan | October 8, 2012 | Reply

    • KsTinMan,
      I had to dig down to the bottom of pg13 of our big city newspaper’s Sporting section to even find reference to the event.

      I guess.. that’s the “world we live in today”..

      But, yes. I think Winston said it very well. And I particularly agree with his last paragraph.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 8, 2012 | Reply

  2. You’re great!

    Like

    Comment by Analee | October 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Analee,
      Well.. I doubt that’s true. But, I do make the effort to do the right things.

      Thank you for the words of support.

      Like

      Comment by techpaul | October 8, 2012 | Reply


Post your Comment/Question

