Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

eBay Phishing

eBay_phishing

But.. I do not buy or sell, nor have I ever bought or sold, a thing on eBay... Hmmm…

inside

Ah! A link! (which reads, “View the dispute thread to respond”)
So, I hover my mouse over the link and see that it leads to…
http://190.xxx.xxx.xxx/icons/small/ps1.gif/signin.ebay.com/ws/ebayISPP.dll/SignIn/
index.htmlSignIn&co_partnerId=2&pUserId=&siteid=0&pageType=&pa1=
&i1=&bshowgif=&UsingSSL=&ru=http://www.ebay.com&pp=&pa2=&errmsg=&
runame=&ruparams=&ruproduct=&sid=&favoritenav=&confirm=&ebxPageType=
&existingEmail=&isCheckout=&migrateVisitor=

which traces back to “Cheap Web Hosting By Directi”.

Or.. I can just look at the WOT “red doughnut” warning.

Folks.. be suspicious of everything on the Internet. And then be suspicious again. Paranoid is good.

… another clue is, I think only spammers use “required” in e-mail subject lines..

Copyright 2007-9 © Tech Paul. All rights reserved. post to jaanix

Share this post :

March 15, 2009 - Posted by | advice, Internet scam, Phishing, spam and junk mail | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Post your Comment/Question