Tech – for Everyone

Tech Tips and Tricks & Advice – written in plain English.

Poll Results: How Much Time Online Is “Too Much”.

Let me start out today with a little reminiscing. When I was a young man, long ago, before Pong, and helmet laws, a fella told me a few words of wisdom. He said, “if everyone you meet tells you that you have a tail, then – as impossible as it sounds – you better wake up to the fact that you do have a tail.

I didn’t really get what he was trying to say. I don’t think.

This feels like a subject change, but it’s not: a short while ago I posted a poll, which readers could “vote” on. The poll asked how many hours a day, spent in front of a computer, online, would constitute “too many” — a possible “problem”. (See, Too Much Time Online?)

I included “there is no such thing” as a voting choice.

To save you a click, let me sum up the results. The answer “there is no such thing” (as too many hours online) was the clear “winner” (and had twice as many votes as it’s nearest competitor -> 4 hours). I will also say that not enough people participated in this poll for the numbers to really mean anything. But I found it curious/interesting none the less.

While the poll was open, I refrained from commenting. I will do so now.

First, I was not surprised by this result. And too, in a way, the poll had the same inherent flaw you would have if you asked ” how many beers/day is too many?” and let active drunkards participate. (You would see answers like “650”.)

Yes, IMHO there is – indeed – such a number as “too many hours”. I don’t know what that number might be (and I suspect it varies) but I refer you to my little parable from my youth (above).

If your husband/wife/significant other has told you, more than once, you are spending too much time “playing at the computer”, well, then, dangit, you may very well have a tail.
(If you have been “dumped” because you sat at the ‘puter too much, then there’s no guesswork.. you do have a tail.)

Have you failed to complete homework because that arena match was so wicked awesome it didn’t end until 5:45 a.m.? Like.. more than a few times? And now Teacher wants to see you after school?
You may have a tail.

Do you talk to people you have never actually met more than you do your family (assuming you have one..) ?
Tail.

Is your online activity causing your bank account balance to be too low to meet your month’s obligations? Has this happened before?
Tail!

If people close to you are always complaining  (because they just don’t “get it”) about your ‘puter time, well, my opinion, I think maybe, it’s you who does not “get it”.

.. now, I am not going to start using words like “addiction”. And only you can decide if there’s a problem (and if so, how serious a one). Nor am I going to offer any solutions for you. I am just a repair technician. But I do talk to people. I know a few who say it was the Internet that caused their divorce. And I have heard more than one parent complain about how the kids never look up from their devices…

(I think the measuring stick here is “neglect”.)

I do have two items for you — if this topic interests you at all, that is. (And please note, they use “addiction”, not me..)

* There’s an online addiction assessment test you can take if you have suspicions/concerns about how much time you or a loved one is spending online.

* Internet Addiction and Internet Sex (This is a good read [from my Blogroll].)

*     *     *

No intro needed: Report: Android Malware Growing Exponentially

 “Android devices are being heavily targeted by hackers and malware producers.Read more..

*     *     *

Today’s quote:What you get free costs too much.” ~ Jean Anouilh

Copyright 2007-2012 © “Tech Paul” (Paul Eckstrom). All Rights Reserved.


>> Folks, don’t miss an article! To get Tech – for Everyone articles delivered to your e-mail Inbox, click here, or to subscribe in your RSS reader, click here. <<


All we really have, in the end, are our stories.
Make yours great ones. Ones to be proud of.

May 22, 2012 Posted by | Android, computers, Internet, tech | , , , , , , , | 3 Comments